Weekly #11- Obama’s my friend on Facebook: the irony of engagement

Well, it’s happened.

We’re approaching the end of the semester. Thought I’d do a brief recap of all that I’ve learned, but figured I could sum it up in one word.

A lot.

(That’s two words… crazy!)

Verbose or not, as challenging as this semester was, I can say hands down, I’ve learned more in these 12-18 weeks-ish than I have in any combination of past classes. Even given personal and professional time commitments, there is not a doubt that I was more engaged, interested, and excited, for lack of a better word, than I have been during my tenure at Georgetown.

Great segway… engagement.

Doesn’t always being with a ring (I’m one to talk) but online, specifically it began with this blog. For me, I have been, perhaps not always timely, but considerably dedicated to writing, and posting.

Why?

Perhaps it’s because this format is new to me and interesting. Or maybe because once I post it, I do feel a cetain awareness and accountability for my writing in a different way. Likely, it’s impacted by the fact that not only can my classmates and friends ready what I write, they can write back, too.

And, it’s fun.

I believe that much like with the Obama, the future of engagement (which the more I write this, becomes like a brick to the face compeltely ironic that I really did get engaged this semester) really begins with understanding and/or accepting the fact that your audiences are talking about you when you’re not part of the conversation.

In the Edelman case study on Obama’s Social Pulpit, there is a brief chart that uses the pedestrian abilities (crawl, walk, run) to analyze social media strategy and estabilish credibility.  I think this platform is what will get politicians, namely Presidents votes.

There has to be a clear strategy, what I argue many companies, corporations and non profits lack in social media, is the ability to answer the question, why are we doing this? What’s the point of using twitter, why should we use facebook? What are we trying to accomplish?

In Garrett’s piece on Obama, the President said, “I think my instincts are good.”

From what I’ve learned in this class- that’s only half the battle. You have to learn the strategics to win the war.

So, go get engaged.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment